A village that’s won my heart

village_5

Over the weekend, Maggie and I decided to explore Fair Oaks Village, a quaint little town I discovered when I met a school study group at  group members’ apartment here. Her apartment is in an old building over an aniques store, and it’s so adorable. The day I visited, I only experienced the Village from what I saw when walking to and from my car: The cutest shops, roosters hustling through crosswalks and a couple of little places that boasted the best in coffee and treats.

village_3

The three of us (Me, Maggie and the dog), first stopped at a little coffee shop, where we enjoyed teas, mochas and a blueberry scone (the same ones my former classmate took to every group meeting). Delish, it was. Entertainment was provided by the town’s dozens of chickens who like to tease dogs and beg for food when they’re not stopping traffic or crowing to one another.

village_39

village_pair_1

village_7

We walked around the little town center, through its park and past the little amphitheater, where they have theater and live music. So cute!

village_10

village_9

We wandered a little more and found some new friends, Cindy, her daughter Bella and their dog Fluffy. They own the cutest little shop, Chez Flea, which operates in an old house where her husband also practices law. They invited us in, dog and all, and it was great getting to know them and talk about the famous chickens, some Fair Oaks history and shopping.

village16

Maggie and I fell in love with them, their dog and the store. They were so nice to let me photograph areas in the shop, including the little kitchen display that I so wish was my own kitchen.

village22

Check out all these little corners of Chez Flea. (Yes, I love linens and anything fabric.)

village31

village_14

village14

village_pair_5

village_pair_7

village17

village32

village30

villaage33

villaage26

village_13

village35

We said goodbye to our friends, but Maggie and I agreed we return to Fair Oaks and Chez Flea.

village_24

After a very short walk, we stopped and ate lunch at a vegeterian drive-in. Maggie had some kind of egg salad sandwich and I had a sandwich with sprouts, avocado, lettuce, cheese, tomato and more. The chickens were hilarious there, also, and didn’t seem to mind the people or the amount of dogs pulling at their leashes, nearly drooling over their own dream of chicken lunches. Maggie overheard someone saying that the chicken feel safe at this restaurant because there’s no chance they’ll end up on the menu. So true.

village_pair_4

village_pair_3

But this wasn’t the whole day. We roughed it (slightly) on a mountain and walked over the American River on a bridge and stood at the edge of a cliff. Those photos will come later. Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A village that’s won my heart

  1. Maggie Creamer says:

    I love how I didn’t know you were taking half of these pictures! That picture of Fluffy is pretty darn cute. I can’t wait to go back!

  2. justatitch says:

    There was a used book store there that I LOVED. It really is so quaint and cute…makes me want to go back.

  3. Daan says:

    again – wonderful pictures!!
    Might come over to the States just to visit that place… Seems lovely!

  4. Jen Howell says:

    So much fun… I’ll have to get some of the rooster shot for my kitchen… how much

  5. Cindy says:

    Lauren- my girl friend visited me today at the shop. She lives in Lincoln, and way to much time goes by between our visits. Anyway, she takes pictures too. I told her about you and remembered to check your blog again tonight. Thank you for such kind words, and your pics are great. Even better- I see you returned and found our treasured bridge! Right On!

  6. Cindy says:

    Lauren, can you email me?

Leave a Reply

