Blues skies over Venice Beach

venice_winnebago

I love Venice Beach. I always dream of living there, in a pastel-colored beach bungalow with wine spritzers in the fridge and banana trees and hibiscus flowers growing against a rustic picket fence β€” and then I remember it’s L.A., not Hawaii, and the rent usually runs between $3,000 and $5,000 a month.

venice_guy_2

So I enjoy Venice when I can, the way everyone does, walking up and down the boardwalk, giving dollar bills to stoners who don’t deserve it and painters and singers who do. I take in the salty smell of the ocean, as well as the stench of the teenagers who don’t have a place to take a morning shower. I enjoy watching the waves roll in an out, but also the skater guys ordering slices of pizza in front of me.

venice_skateboard

It’s a magical place. A colorful place. And a sad place. I guess I love that it can be all of those things. Not many places can.

venice_building

venice_bus_1

blanket_combo

venice_deli

venice_man

This man is a painter. Above, he shows off his self portrait, but these are also some of his painted motorhomes below. I love them.

venice_paint_van

venice_paint

pizza

venice_loser

shoes_dangle

venice_chair

venice_guy3

venice_flowers

venice_door

venice_hostel_2

venice_hostel_3

venice_ocean

venice_letters

venice_bike

venice_rollerblade copy

venice_vintage

venice_skate_2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blues skies over Venice Beach

  1. becca says:

    Can I PLEASE take you with me to Europe as my photographer. I’ll never get pictures this fab on my trip 😦

  2. brent says:

    next photo stop… Marina del Rey, CA

    swing by and compete with us…

    http://www.thedayofgames.com/dogblog/

Leave a Reply

