This is my {new} life

desk1

This is my homework corner, where I now spend most of my weekends and evenings since I started taking night classes. This weekend I did a lot of reading, tried to play catch-up with Lodi Living (since I'm going on vacation and have to do double the load) and started a memoir project for a writing class. I'm writing about moving back in with my parents. I've got great material, but the only problem with memoirs is your parents will read them if they're ever published. I couldn't imagine! Oh, and those are my bulletin boards. That's where I keep everything from art and design inspiration to birthday cards and things that make me happy.

Lately I’ve been feeling like I just haven’t been crafty or inspired. But then it hit me: I’m a student again, plus I have a full-time job (that I often do work at home for). Classes (only two of them) started three weeks ago. Since then, my schedule has been FUNKY. The first week was tough, but now I’m getting used to it, and I really don’t mind the hour commute (though my classmates think I’m crazy and thought their 20 minute commute was something to complain about). But, it’s not even THAT difficult anymore, though some days I wish I could sleep in a little or go to bed earlier. And, I finally bought a Bluetooth so I can finally call of the people I never get to talk to.

work

I'm taking a class I avoided the entire time I was an undergrad: Shakespeare. But now, the masters program is forcing me. We read about one play a week. Last we read "Taming of Shrew." This weekend, I read (almost finished) "A Midsummer Night's Dream." I was very bitter about having to take this class, but I have to admit, it's not that bad. It's kind of funny. Sometimes, I actually get into the story, like in this scene when two girls are fighting over a guy and calling each other cankerblossoms and jugglers. I like to write things like "girl fight" in the margins. It makes it more fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

