My new project: Guitar art

Take a good look at Mr. Classical Guitar. It's the last time he'll look, well, classic.

My first love is collage. It always has been, probably always will be. I’ve collaged and Mod Podge’d everything from vintage suitcases to match boxes.

So, why not a guitar?

I’ve been staring at my classical guitar for years, thinking it needs a good layer of my most special magazine scraps. Every time I tell people (OK, it’s usually non-art-minded people) my idea, they act like it’s a mortal sin to deface a guitar.

This guitar really doesn’t have any special meaning to me. I think that’s key. I would never collage my “real” guitar. But I picked up Mr. Classical at a thrift store in Long Beach for 20 bucks when I was a freshmen in college. It never sounded very good either.

I’m excited to have a substantial collage project. I’ve kind of missed it since I stopped for a while because I got tired of doing notebooks and tin boxes.

I like some of the painted guitars I’ve seen, but I think I’ll save that for my second art guitar.

Here are a guitars people have gone artsy on:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My new project: Guitar art

  1. Dana says:

    Cool photos of guitar art and awesome idea! Can’t wait to see how your own guitar turns out.

  2. lucy says:

    omg im in love with those! lorena you are gonna do awesome! rock n roll gypsy queen! love,lucy.

  3. acousticroof says:

    Hello from Nova Scotia…

    we are acousticroof.ca and acousticroof.wordpress

    I LOVE these guitars!! Besides learning to play better, one of my plans is to turn a guitar into art… so this is very inspiring! come and visit our blog which will touch on many musical things, and much much more!

  4. Lucy says:

    That is what I want for our wedding gift 🙂 ill supply the guitar you supply the artfulness. Dont you like how I am so demanding? hmph 🙂 Some sacred hearts, some day of the dead, a little lorena de las mariposas action 🙂 mmm hmm. perfecto!

  5. renee h says:

    Ok how much is this gonna cost,,,Ya know I sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo want one!!!

  6. Pingback: Pretty much the perfect Saturday night « The Urban Hippie

  7. Pingback: Today. « The Urban Hippie

  8. Renee says:

    I miss you,,,Already!

  9. chanel says:

    this is so cool. how do you do it?

  10. Pingback: A collage for a Tuesday « The Urban Hippie

  11. Pingback: Decoupaged guitars « Get Guitared

  12. Brittany says:

    I need help doing a collage on a guitar. What do you use tokeep everything in place???

  13. Joy says:

    I came across this by accident. I’ve been mod podging guitars for a couple of years now and selling them too! If you use stretchy fabric you can use just about anything, especially tee shirts with cool designs on them, and I’ve sold guitars and bodies all over Europe.
    I love the designs you’ve done.
    I think Les Paul guitars are easiest to do, the neck is the trickiest bit, but i’ve covered almost all types of electric and acoustic guitars.
    good look with your mod podging
    JOY

    Best wishes
    JOY

  14. Pingback: Summer love :: My art guitar |

Leave a Reply

