The magic of Holga

Leaves in the pool on a rainy winter day. A blue love bug in the parking lot. Santos looking over a family in an old Lockeford cemetery.

Last year, I discovered Holga. She’s an inexpensive, clunky camera made almost entirely of plastic. It’s the not-so-great design that makes it great. Each camera has light leaks and slight distortions that make each photo a little different. Holga photos takes with medium format 120 film that leave cool steaks and textures and dark spots or edges

While I love Holga, developing gets a little expensive. I usually send the rolls of film (you choose 12 or 16 photos a roll) to Dwayne’s Photo. He’s the cheapest. Just be careful when you buy film. If you want prints, make sure you don’t buy slide film. That’s where it gets super expensive. In Stockton, I think the only place to get 120 film developed at is Wolf Photo, by Chucky Cheese on Pacific.

Here are some photos from my first roll of film.

Top left: Locke house β€” I fell in love with the green, pink and green in one spot; an old door in a Locke garden; a sink in the garden; all dressed up and naked in the field; my grandma's old bike; cure for writer's block

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The magic of Holga

  1. Love you Holga photography! You should really try your hand at being a fine art photographer. Seriously. I am jealous at how creative you are at so many mediums. Loves!

  2. Lauren says:

    Aw thank you. That means a lot coming from you, a super duper awesome photographer. I feel like I attempt a lot of different things, but none of them ever turn out to be my “specialty” or “calling.”
    I love the Holga, but too bad you’ve also introduced me to actions that do pretty much the same thing without the price of developing. I’m still scared to pick up my photos as Wolf because I dropped them off so long ago. I doubt they’re even there. Sad.

  3. lucy says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwww i love your friend Holga. I love your pictures. I need that pic of the bike hanging on my bathroom wall. just because it matches. love ya. kthanksbye.

  4. lucy says:

    btw its Chuck E. Cheese…..not Chucky Cheese.

    Geez L-train πŸ™‚

  5. bexadler says:

    One of my other friends was talking about this camera recently. Erm, and your pictures are AMAZING. I would totally buy those if I saw them framed in a shop.

  6. Lauren says:

    Thanks Becca. Yeah, is it Leslie who has a Holga? She had one at Wine Appreciation Club last month. I was excited to see a non-photographer using one. I think she took a really nasty picture of me on your patio. haha.

  7. Mike says:

    Lauren – you have become quite the photographer πŸ™‚ I LOVE your pictures.

  8. Pingback: Casa del Holga « The Urban Hippie

  9. Helena says:

    You take really nice photos πŸ™‚ Especially love the dress form

  10. Pingback: All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go… « The Urban Hippie

Leave a Reply

