Day of treasure and art

I just love this black and white magazine photo. I wanted to include it in a journal piece about personal spaces, except I didn't like how it turned out. So here's a snipet of the picture with some messy pastel.

I just love this black and white magazine photo. I wanted to include it in a journal piece about personal spaces, except I didn't like the way it turned out. So here is the photo with a little messy pastel.

Today was a good Sunday. Maybe it has something to do with knowing I don’t have to work Monday (holiday). Or, maybe it’s because I got to do lots of cool stuff.

It started with mine and Laura’s treasure hunting. Most of the thrift shops in Stockton were closed, but Superior Thrift kept its doors open — God Bless You. We picked carefully through shelves of ceramic dishes, bags of crafts, racks of lingerie and blankets. I’ve been forced to swear off housewares and furniture for a while, but I still scored some good finds: wooden knitting needles, paint and a good paint brush, a multi-colored wooden pepper grinder and a little mini burlap sac that I’m using to keep my tiny paints together.

But it was Laura who found the ultimate treasure: A huge black trunk covered in really old travel stickers. It took a trip around the store to decide if she really wanted it, but in the end she had to have it. I think she’ll sleep better knowing that it’s a great addition to her already awesome patio.

Pieces of a summer journal entry.

Pieces of a summer journal entry.

We wrapped up our thrift store/flea market trip early, so I went to Barnes and Noble to read the art books I can’t afford to buy. I sat in the cafe sipping an iced mocha and savoring pumpkin cheesecake. I flipped through art books and they totally inspired me to go home and get to work on some art. I’ve been reading a lot about art journaling, so that’s kind of where I’m getting started.

Today, Mendocino -- its flowers, breeze, attitude, mist -- was on my mind. I was inspired to do an entry about the cheezy song, "Mendosino" by the Sir Dougles Quintet (and sung by others).

Today, Mendocino — its flowers, breeze, attitude, mist — was on my mind. I was inspired to do an entry about the cheezy song, “Mendocino” by the Sir Dougles Quintet (and sung by others).

Teeny Bopper, my teenage lover
I caught your waves last night
It sent my mind to wonderin’.
You’re such a groove
Please don’t move
Please stay in my love house by the river.
Fast talkin’ guys with strange red eyes
Have put things in your head
And started your mind to wonderin’
I love you so, please don’t go
Please stay here with me in Mendocino.
Mendocino, Mendocino,
Where life’s such a groove
You blow your mind in the morning.
We used to walk through the park,
Make love along the way in Mendocino.
(Ah, play it, Augie! Yeah!)
Like I told you, can you dig it?
If you wanna groove, I’ll be glad to have you.
‘Cause I love you so, please don’t go,
Please stay here with me in Mendocino,
Mendocino, Mendocino
Where life’s such a groove,
You blow your mind in the morning
We used to walk through the park,
Make love along the way in Mendocino
Mendocino, Mendocino, Mendocino

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day of treasure and art

  1. Jen Howell says:

    Love Mendocino! Glad you are bloggin’!

  2. natalie says:

    Love the journal page!! That is one of the things that I wish I could/would do, is journal. Maybe soon.
    It was really great to meet you today, and I hope that we can get together, and craft!!! It’s good to know that there are some like-minded people that are nearby!
    P.S. I saw that you have Jenny Holiday on your links…I met her and Aaron last year in Omaha…..She is so sweet….and the first person that ever left a message on my blog!!

  3. 卷毛 says:

    Cool~ Love the page!

Leave a Reply

