Summer peppers for a summer cold

I stayed home sick today with a summer cold. Those two words should never go together. All I want to do is cuddle up under a fluffy blanket, but I can’t because it’s triple digits out.

I wanted to accomplish something beside tossing and turning on the couch, so I made some stuffed peppers with bell peppers from the garden. I made two big casserole dishes full. I think I’m going to freeze some since the garden’s probably about done giving me veggies this year. But as I was making the mixture, I had this thought: Is it possible that if I freeze these peppers I could be freezing my germs? Can I get the same cold the next time I eat these stuffed peppers? I know, it’s gross to think about, so let’s not.

This time, I cut the peppers in half lengthwise. I carved the seeds and extras out from the center. I also left most of the tops on so that the mixture doesn’t spill out. I sauteed yellow onions and organic ground beef until it was all cooked and yummy. In a large bowl, I mixed diced homegrown tomatoes, tomato sauce, brown rice and the ground beef and onions. I made sure it was all wet and then stuffed. Sometimes I add cheese in the bottom, but I’m trying to be healthy so opted to go sans cheese. I baked it for about an hour on 350. They’re tasty, healthy and filling. I’m hoping this will help get me back on my track of healthy eating.

I love cooking, but today it’s left me exhausted. I hope you all are healthy and enjoying the last days of  this beautifully hot summer.

Peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer peppers for a summer cold

  1. bexadler says:

    Yum! I love stuffed bell peppers, and how awesome is it that they’re from your garden? I didn’t know you had a garden. I just started one this year too and I’m loving it. How awesome is it to step out the back door to pick some tomatoes or basil for dinner?!

  2. Sheryl says:

    How come you didn’t make these for me? 🙂
    Love the pics… makin’ me hungry!

  3. Pingback: Thoughts in the morning « The Urban Hippie

Leave a Reply

