Five Senses Monday

 

ImageStrong coffee. New book. Golden sunrise. Kitty cuddles. It was the perfect Sunday morning.ImageImageHappy Monday, friends. I hope you had a wonderfully relaxing weekend. Though I’m getting the itch to go somewhere — anywhere, really — I did enjoy a mellow weekend with different friends and family. Weekends are always nice that way, when you don’t really know what to expect and just let it flow. Here is a little peak at life lately, since I haven’t been the greatest blogger later (I’m working on that, I promise). And don’t forget to read Five Senses Monday at the end.

I read a little “Kinfolk” in bed:ImageThe littlest niece. Emmelia Rose, with cilantro on her chin:ImageMommy locked me out:
Image
Doorbell-ditcher in training:ImageBreakfast with the biggest niece and my mom. Bowls of whipped goodness for all:ImageThis has been on my bulletin board for years. I really believe we should all just try a little harder:ImageI made a batch of my mom’s turkey stuffing (sans turkey) in the Dutch oven. It tasted like Thanksgiving a month early:ImageAll pumpkin spice, all the time:ImageA delicious brick-oven-cooked asparagus and chicken pizza from La Strada 88 (I requested the chicken).ImageCindy and I recently had a garage sale. It was the most colorful, funky and creative sale in town:ImageThis weekend I sat around a campfire on a cool night. It’s also the first item I can cross off my Fall Manifesto.Image

Image

ImageDew streaks and the sunrise behind me:Image
Five Senses Monday

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the senses through the last few days. Play along.

Tasting:My Dutch oven twist on my mom’s stuffing; it tasted like Thanksgiving with the family. Peppermint mochas … they’re back! Waffles topped with strawberries at breakfast with my mom and niece. Tri-tip and cheesy potatoes around a fire.

Hearing:
That creepy, gusty wind last week. Witty writing during a “Girls” marathon. Helpful advice from friends. New music I’m embarrassed to admit I like.

Feeling:Like there is a lot in the works. Excited. Scared. Nervous. More excited. Cold in the mornings. Sloppy dog kisses. Fuzzy socks. Kitty nuzzles. Like going somewhere

Seeing:
A beautiful sunrise over the pasture. “Amarcorde,” such a wacky classic film. Sparks fly into the dark sky.

Smelling:
Garlic browning in hot oil. Bvlgari cologne. Tea; I’m becoming a tea drinker.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Gosh I love seeing the world thru your eyes…no one does it quite like you. Feel blessed to call you friend L.

  2. amarticus says:

    Beautiful! Jealous of what looks like an incredibly relaxing morning!

  3. Maggie says:

    I’m so glad you are beginning to enjoy tea. It’s such a comforting drink. And more La Strada all the time please!

Leave a Reply

