Five Senses Monday

five-1

Wine and cheese at The Rustic Mic.

Sometimes, you get yourself into a big project of processing walnut trees, right before a big Dutch oven cookoff, all while you are adjusting to a new job and trying to make it to dinners and coffee and cocktails with your favorites. And you don’t even realize you’ve taken a week-long blogging vacay. I’m sorry, friends.

I thought I’d come back with a little tradition, a little Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the senses. Here are some things from my world lately, mainly meals with friends both out and in. What’s going on in your world?

Tasting:
Dinners and drinks with old friends: Guacamole and a pitcher of margaritas with a smoking appetizer the chef insisted we try (which was, ultimately, delicious); pink wine and slices of sour Granny Smith apples; cheese plates and desserts. Peoples’ skill and love and family tradition poured into pots cooked with coals at an annual Dutch oven party. Pumpkin spice lattes. Tapioca.

Hearing:
A little girl telling me about the cuffs and belt that go with her Super Woman Halloween costume. My aunt making cupcakes and doing the day’s first round of dishes before 5 a.m., which meant it was time for me to get up and start prepping for the cookoff. Brene Brown talking about the power of vulnerability. People laughing at me — because I scream at dangling spiders. The word “patience” bouncing around my head.

Seeing:
Candlelight and silent films. Wet dough transforming into breakfast.

Feeling:
Cool in the mornings. So in the mood to purge and simplify … garage sale this weekend; can’t wait. Calm. Ready for a rainy Saturday.

Smelling:
The candle aisle at Hobby Lobby.

five-2

five-3 five-5five-7a five-6

five-7

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Senses Monday

  1. Amber Henry says:

    I always love reading your blog. I miss my Lauren! By the way, I MIGHT have given you a little shout-out over at MY blog. :) Just because….

Leave a Reply

