Grabbing the brass ring | Beach Boardwalk

ImageLast week was a busy one. Not only did I find myself camping on the beach in Northern California, I wound up spending a few days in Santa Cruz. I always find my inner tourist in Santa Cruz, where Downtown has the best randomness in their boutiques and every street has great local color.

When I was in elementary school and junior high, my schools would take end-of-the-year field trips to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Over the years, I would visit only to find that the walk felt too crowded and newly commercial. This time, though, it felt a little different.

I went with my aunt, who was way more excited to ride the rides and play carnival rides than I was. She talked me into shelling out six ride tickets each for the Giant Dipper and the log ride. The Giant Dipper is one of my all-time favorite roller coasters. So rickety and old, it was just like it was when I was a kid. I screamed loud. I held on tight. I wanted to go again.ImageWe also rode the carousel. I don’t know if any others do this, but this carousel makes you grab the brass ring. I was excited to hop on and reach for ring at the end of an extended arm. When you grab it, you’re supposed to quickly throw it into the clown’s mouth. But for as long as I’ve known her, my friend Cindy has told me, “Grab your brass ring, baby!” Meaning, claim what’s yours; fly like an eagle; reach for the stars; find your calling and be that shining person God made you to be. She says it better, but you get the point. She’s been reminding me a lot lately, so it was just really magical for me to grab the literal brass ring over and over until the music stopped. ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageThat was our little morning at the Boardwalk. What is your favorite ride?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grabbing the brass ring | Beach Boardwalk

  1. booketta says:

    What gorgeous photos.

Leave a Reply

