Five Senses Monday

ImageThe first round of green beans were ready to be picked this weekend. They are one of my favorites. ImageThe spaghetti squash are a little out of hand:ImageLove bugs:ImageA quick homemade salsa made with everything I already had:ImageA morning walk included a vineyard loaded with purple grapes. Harvest season is among us.ImageImageMy favorite time of day. One of them.ImageImageI found her sitting on the bed looking out the window.ImageThe cucumbers are taking over my life, so I made Hillbilly Cucumber Salad. Thanks, Julie.ImageImageAnother morning.ImageImageCindy visited me this weekend, and snapped this great shot of Zamora. A huge smile and tomato juice lipstick.ImageWe had a hodge podge garden feast with garlic green beans, cucumber salad, caprese salad, spaghetti squash with pesto I made the day before, and watermelon. ImageA relaxing weekend, for sure.

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the senses. Play along, friends. Tell me your senses!

Tasting:
Those oh-so-wonderful flavors of the garden. It’s so rewarding to know that it all came from a plot of land that was just dirt a few months ago. Cucumber-lemon water; I’m obsessed with putting cucumbers and lemon slices in a pitcher in the fridge … I can’t stop drinking my water (I never, ever say that). Yummy homemade carrot cupcakes Cindy baked for dessert.

Feeling:
Like hay gives me mad allergies (or is this the onset of a summer cold? … no!). Frustrated I don’t have answers for my closest friends in transition. A giant craving to see the sea.

Hearing:
Those funny donkeys chomping tomatoes and slurping their way to finished. Chickens’ peaceful murmers in the field. Words from the vet: “It’s just a scratch” (that didn’t keep her from charging me).

Seeing:
“Girls,” season 2. I don’t have HBO anymore, so I was super excited to find it on sale at Target last week. Maggie and I made it a whole event. My dear friend, Cindy. Lately we’ve only seen each other during lunch hours, so it was nice to slow down and linger over the stories and catch-up.

Smelling:
The vinegar, so strong, yet tasty, with the cucumbers. That distinct smell of country in the morning: wet dirt, freshness, the fabric softener in the sweater I pull over my head.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Senses Monday

  1. Barb Smith says:

    Hi. I’ve been reading for a while but just haven’t commented until now. I love your description of things…especially the vinegar/cucumbers. You rock. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

