My summer manifesto

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageI realize we’re well into summer, but I’ve been thinking a lot about the next few weeks and how I am going to maximize all of this golden light and warm nights. Then I read Hula Seventy’s manifesto and I just had to create my own. Getting it on the interwebs helps us stay accountable. I hope.

i will pick bucketfuls of blackberries.

i will learn how to can things that grow. if not said blackberries, then homegrown tomatoes.

i will make homemade ice cream.

i will watch ‘girls, season 2.’

i will sleep in the backyard in a tent.

i will keep the garden weed-free.

i will go to the drive-in.

i will hang sheets out to dry.

i will bake something out of ‘apples for jam.’

i will ride my longboard when the sky is all golden.

i will camp with both of the dogs.

i will make those bottle cap earrings (and replace the one maggie lost)

i will take a day off to soak in the pool.

i will finish a library book.

i will pay off that one stupid credit card.

i will spend a summery weekend with the niece and nephew.

i will polish my gold beach rocks.

i will eat tomatoes while standing in the garden.

i will consume endless gallons of iced tea.

i am going to master the art of cooking with the spaghetti squash (because, oops, we planted too many).

i will redo my bedroom.

i will let my dad cook me dinner more.

i will shoot the grape festival in good light.

i will use real film. (in that new (to me) sx-70!).

i will play with the vintage barbie pool scored at goodwill, with sophia probably the last summer she thinks barbie is still ah-maz-ing.

i will make thai coffee.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My summer manifesto

  1. booketta says:

    Good luck with all that, it’s a pretty long list :) Yep, I should re-do my to-do list or manifesto.

  2. Maggie says:

    These are all such lovely goals, and I want to help with so many of them (earrings, Grape Festival, and pool time, oh my!) I also can’t wait to eat more stuff out of your garden. Sara and I made patty pan squash with goat cheese and spaghetti, and it was delicious.

  3. Siru says:

    I absolutely love all your photos!

Leave a Reply

