Gold Beach or Bust, 8mm style | Roadtrip video

Vacation has been over for four days now. However, I’m a little bit in denial about it. I’ve been putting off acknowledging that sinking feeling you get when you realize vacation came, was wonderful, and ended. I’m good at the denial thing, just pretending that load of laundry doesn’t exist and telling myself that the best hours of the day really aren’t spent indoors and that my bills don’t really need to be paid. Because none of those things are very vacation-y. Right?

I’m keeping vacation alive by doing things like drinking iced tea on the front lawn until dark and making giant batches of pesto to slather on grilled pattypan squash from the garden (everything started to ripen while we were away … delightful). And since I gave my main TV away (no regrets yet), I decided to make my own entertainment in the form of a vacation movie, old-home-video style.

No judgement, guys. This is my first try at the video thing, but after watching 6 minutes of iMovie how-to guides on YouTube, I think I’ve got the basics down. To the horror of all social media gurus, the 5-minute length might be long, but okay with me … considering most of my family movies feature hours of me singing the “Pippi Longstocking” theme song at every family function.

I used my the Super 8 (8 mm) app on my iPhone 5 (cracked screen and all). There are also a few clips from the new Instagram video feature. I thought it was really cool Instagram launched their video function right when I decided to play with Super 8.

I hope you enjoy this little roadtrip. Oh, and turn up the volume : )

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gold Beach or Bust, 8mm style | Roadtrip video

  1. booketta says:

    Lovely blog and I adore your video. I can’t wait to hit the road again with our little caravan soon.

  2. You’ve convinced me…Gold Beach post-wedding!! The video was so much fun.

  3. Dee says:

    I lived in Brookings for 4 years, plus, and had my first son in Gold Beach. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome video! I’m homesick now. :) Great job!

  4. Tara Clary says:

    that video made me so nostalgic for high school.. i grew up in Eureka and would go to oregon, the gold beach area a lot…. even went on the jet boat trips, they were so fun….

Leave a Reply

