Five Senses … Tuesday

ImageThis past weekend, it was hot. Really, really hot. So I had a little “staycation” and made the decision to settle in Friday after work and not leave for anything — not for morning coffee, not to replace the milk, not to buy more pool reading at the drugstore — until it was time to go back to work Monday morning. It was the best decision, ever.

Here is a little Five Senses Tuesday, where I reflect on the past few days … of pool time, relaxation, heat and stunning views. xoxo

Tasting:
So much summer freshness: cilantro/cabbage/lime/toasted sesame oil salads; tomato/Cous Cous/toasted almond/spinach/asparagus/vinaigrette salads; coconut milk/dark chocolate/Greek yogurt parfaits; pasta/spinach/tomato salads. Coffee from a machine in the wall that read my mind, ground beans and was always good.

Feeling:
A pool heated by the sun on a 107-degree day. The shower burning my back where I missed with the sunblock. So lucky that people trust my friend Maggie and I to take care of their lovely animals and homes. In love with an old Aussie new to my world. Relaxed for hours and hours with books and magazines on the poolside. Unexpected tired when I slept through the whole movie that night in the cabana.

Smelling:
Turkey burgers on the grill. Sunblock on my face.

Hearing:
Horses in the pasture. A few new bands on Spotify. The dull of noise from the bottom of the pool.

Seeing:
The sun in my eyes. Flip-flop tan lines on my feet. Gorgeous pink sunsets. Reflections in the pond.

ImageMorning ritual: Doggie walk to the pond.ImageImageLoving the morning light lately.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageA lot of light reading.ImageImageThe light at night is pretty good, too. Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Senses … Tuesday

  1. vibvagabond says:

    I stumbled upon your blog about a year ago, and really loved it. Then I got busy and kind of forgot about it for awhile until yesterday evening when I was doodling in my sketchbook on my lawn during the sunset and immediately I thought to myself, “I should do that 5 senses thing” like that one girl does on her blog because there were so many senses going on at that moment. You inspired me and it was great! Just thought I’d let you know :)

Leave a Reply

