Five Senses Monday

Image

Howdy, friends. Welcome to Monday. Has it been good so far? I was worried earlier by sleepies and an itchy throat that I was coming down with something and needing to load up on Emergen-C. But now I’ve chugged enough iced coffee that I think it was just the sleepies. Let’s hope. I may still take extra precautions and chug that cold cure.

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Play along — it makes it more fun.

Tasting:
Baby greens in my salad that I grew from seed; yay for harvest success (can’t say so much for my first try at radishes). Big, beefy steaks on the grill. Cran-Raspberry juice and champagne = Mmm, yum. Pea shoots in my salad, to make lunch a little more interesting.

Feeling:
Excited for night No. 1 in a new fifth wheel … whoohoo, let the camping/roadtripping season begin! As busy as those honeybees on the pink, pink roses. The cold water of my first backyard swim inching up my spine. So sore after moving two quarts of firewood after a workout with a whole lot of skaters.

Hearing:
The world, oh-so-muffled with clogged ears, after I couldn’t take the cold inching-in any longer and dove straight in. The dogs bark at Polly, the world’s best deep-end diver (they want courage like hers).

Seeing:
Sunlight when we get to bootcamp at 6 a.m.; it’s been oh-so-dark these past few months.

Smelling:
Ribeye steaks sizzling on the barbecue. A new broccoli-cauliflower casserole getting all cheesy-melty in the oven. The old chlorine in my swimsuit, leftover from those summery days in Utah.
ImageI grew lettuce for the first time, and now I have salad. ImageThe radishes should be ready in a week or two. ImageFriends, there was steak in my life this week. Big, juicy, yummy steak. Sometimes I think I could go vegetarian, but then someone makes me this and I think not.ImageMy aunt dug out last summer’s pail for champagne on ice. Big day. A time to toast the leaves on the trees, the hummingbirds at the feeder and a night for cocktails. ImageAt home, summer was all ready to come out to play. Summer weather makes everyone happier. ImageImageThe dogs have been waiting months. Finally, we yelled, “Jump,” and they jumped.ImagePolly is most admired because she’s not scared of the deep-end.ImageThis was an accidental sun picture, but I really like it. Hello, little magenta flare. ImageImageImage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Senses Monday

  1. Judy660 says:

    Loved this! I could sense it all!!

Leave a Reply

