Five Senses Monday

ImageHappy Monday. I had a rather quiet weekend to myself, which is a bit unlikely and a bit nice. It eased my mind to catch up on personal projects and check things off that never-ending list of to-dos. We all have those, don’t we? I wrote and worked and tinkered for hours and hours. When I started to feel cooped up, I tried new recipes or took drives to the country to visit my aunt, bags of dinner in the passenger seat.

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Play along if you get the urge, either on your own blog or in the comments.

Hearing:
Two ducks chattering to themselves as they sunbathed at the edge of the swimming pool. Awful and annoying songs as I searched the Internet for music to add to my workout/everyday playlists (recommendations, please!). A winemaker playing guitar as we drank wine and ate almonds marinated in truffle oil.

Seeing:
A tender and touching film, “The Sessions“; even if it did mean seeing a lot more Helen Hunt than I needed to. Raindrops and sunshine in the same afternoon. Donkeys wandering over to me, only to be disappointed by my lack of carrots.

Feeling:
Relieved to have finally completed the framework for a new project. Amazed at how much I can get done in a morning when I’m surrounded by nothing but peace, quiet and one cute dog. That deep, make-your-shoulders-drop, hint-of-sadness disappointment you sometimes get when you realize that was so unlikely. Anxious to pack my camping bags for summer and take off.

Tasting:
Soft and chunky trail mix cookies made with almond butter, nuts, dark chocolate, coconut, agave and other lovely decadence. Mango frozen yogurt. Asian chicken salad, a first dinner in a new camper — perfect, even if we were only parked in the driveway.

Smelling:
My attempt at the island black bean stew I learned at the Utah cooking demonstration; packed with flavor, yet not as chunky as the chef’s version. Coffee — just because it always has to be in my life.

Have a great week, friends.ImageImageImageImageImage

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

