Five Senses Monday

ImageHello, Monday. Hello, friends. I was thinking, Mondays get a worse rap than maybe they deserve sometimes. Don’t get me wrong, I hate those initial blares of the alarm Monday morning and the Sunday night that’s reserved for early bedtime, laundry and packing lunches. But I keep finding that I do appreciate Monday for its golden opportunity to start over, to organize and to begin fresh. I do some of this on Sundays, but I find that on Mondays, I always organize my calendar, peek between my fingers at my bank account and pay bills, as well as make my to-do lists for the week, from emails I need to return to projects I want to tackle. On Mondays, I regather and refocus, rethink tasks and oddly figure out new ways to tackle those little things.

Maybe this is just me trying to like Mondays. Let’s be friends, Monday.

But that said, there is still nothing quite like a Saturday. Wide open and so full of opportunity. This past Saturday, I got dirty. Real dirty. I spent about three hours huddled over planter boxes pulling out last year’s dried-up strawberry plants at my aunt’s house, where we are planting “whatever you want,” she said. I’m super excited. We took down a tower of strawberries, which resulted in us both being covered in mud, dirt and ash (don’t ask). But at the end of the day, we had neat little beds of three different lettuces and a wine barrel of radishes. I’m excited for winter/early spring crops, and eve more excited for those juicy summer ones.

Are you planting anything? I’d love ideas of new and interesting edibles.

Five Senses Monday

And now, it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the last few days through the five senses. Play along in the comments or on your own blog.

Tasting:
A turkey sandwich, plain and simple: The first thing I craved after a week of the icky stomach flu. That simple “oh-so-Midwest” pea salad my aunt and I love (just thawed frozen peas, cubed sharp cheddar, diced white onion and mayo). Quiches, strawberries and gin fizzes at a birthday-month girl’s brunch yesterday.

Feeling:
Sore, sore hamstrings after a day in the garden … no kettlebell lunges for me at today’s bootcamp, thanks (Who knew gardening was such a workout?!). Very thoughtful, quiet and calm as I pulled tiny threads of strawberry roots from the soil; it was kind of therapeutic. Relieved to be feeling better and to have our office coming back to health a little this week. Flip-flops and an open window as the weather starts to warm up.

Hearing:
Squabbles of chickens as part of the flock went to a new home (10 eggs a day is a lot for one person; no, I didn’t cry this time, though they are just down the street).

Seeing:
New friends, who I am looking forward to connecting with on an upcoming trip to the red mountains of Utah.

Smelling:
My mom’s healthy-fried chicken sizzlingly in the pan. That earthy soil. ImageImageTiny, tiny little roots.ImageImageAmazing that these tiny seeds turn into romaine lettuce.ImageImageDirty Red thought I was burying worms. Not helpful, Red.ImageMy mom also got busy in the garden this weekend and planted some flowers and potatoes in paper bags wrapped in burlap. ImageDirty fun.Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. Cynthia says:

    You’re pushing me over the edge to start buying seeds. Great images. ;)

  2. Love it! Yes, I need to buy some flower seeds, marigolds for the bugs and zinnas for a full sun spots in the garden. Anxious to get those tomato and pepper plants seeds sowed. A couple more weeks, still too cold here.

  3. Maggie says:

    Lady bug friend!

Leave a Reply

