Five Senses Monday

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Happy Monday, friends!

I got out of town this weekend! It was great to see road and mountains and the ocean during a few days with my sister-in-law Stacy and my brother (more on this visit later). We wandered around the pier in Pismo and were cheesy tourists at the gum wall in San Luis Obispo and then regulars at Whole Foods in Monterey. It was good to be away and to hang out with people I don’t see enough.

So, I’ll just get right into it. Here is Five Senses Monday, that little weekly feature where I reflect on the weekend through the five senses. I’d love if you played along and shared, too.

Tasting:
Homemade Hostess cupcakes (Stacy made them from scratch; and they are  mostly organic). Yummy barbecue with a cheesy cauliflower bake. Salt water taffy in all flavors. A splurge on not one, but two, salted caramel mochas (oy, the guilt). Coffee and eggs at home.

Smelling:
That salty beach smell; I miss it all the time.

Hearing:
The two of us, speaking in British accents and then cracking up at our own mini gherkin jokes. The disappointment that is the radio, as well as CDs you’ve exhausted (now accepting music recommendations, please).

Feeling:
Thankful I got to visit. Sad they don’t live closer. Sleepy after watching “Jaws” before getting in the car to drive home.

Seeing:
Raindrops and waves. My nephew and niece pooches. Green, green hills.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. The pics, as usual, are marvelous and so evoke the moments. I’m really craving some coast time…and those cupcakes too!

  2. Maggie says:

    Oh my god, I have not read your blog in ages. Prepare yourself for 8 million comments! Also, I need some sock monkey slippers!

Leave a Reply

