Five Senses Monday

ImageHappy Monday, friends. The sun has been out a little lately, and it feels so good. Still, I know we need that rain and the mountains need snow — and my friends with snowboarding passes are hoping for fresh powder, too.

What did you do this weekend? Are you working on projects? Going places? Meeting people?

It was a fairly low-key weekend of sticking close to home. Leaves were raked. A ball was kicked non-stop for a certain obsessed pooch. Pots and pans were put away and pulled out again. Mornings were thoroughly enjoyed, and plenty of coffee was consumed. Last week started with its challenges and disappointments, but it turned around with new friends and new opportunities I’m excited to explore and share. I’m still always amazed how things happen the way they’re supposed to when you let them.

So, I suppose I’ll get to it, our little Monday routine of Five Senses Monday. If you are new here or don’t know what I’m talking about, it’s a little series I do reflecting on the last few days through the senses. Play along in the comments or on your own blog, and be sure to let me know if you do.

Tasting:
Wonderful homemade cinnamon bread made by, and shared with, a new friend at her cozy country homestead. The French-press coffee she also made for us on that overcast day. A bratwurst from Lockeford Sausage, the family “meatery” that ceases to have a line out the door or a wafting aroma. Breakfast quiche with spinach and mushrooms. A failed attempt to make a Moroccan tagine chicken recipe that ended up with us going out for dinner (we’re still proud of ourselves for trying).

Hearing:
A screaming niece, who wanted her mushy carrots and momma more than my hugs. People telling me they are inspired by a story I wrote here; a fun woman lost 140 pounds with Zumba dancing and healthy eating. My friend Cindy’s entertaining stories from a week at Optimum Health Institute in San Diego (raw food and colonics and fascinating people and adventures — Oh, my!).

Seeing:
An inspiring friend (she’s on her 38th novel!) over dinner and good conversation. A little o’ this and a little o’ that on Netflix. Cindy’s beautiful new pieces, so full of color and imaginations; some of my new favorites. That giant moon that rose brightly and lingered in the sky until morning was well on its way.

Feeling:
Cold, cold air at early-morning bootcamp workouts, and frozen fingers gripping a metal kettle bell. Soft blankets on cold mornings. Loving that Sara, my Aussie, is loving her new fluffy bed and likes to bury her head in its soft depths. Heartache for a friend who lost her father this weekend, though glad she has so much acceptance and perception of the situation. Clear and aware.

Smelling:
That cinnamon bread. Garlic butter made with clarified butter (used at a local crab feed; not by me, the girl who doesn’t eat crab. Go ahead, say it: “What?!” I know).

Have a great week, friends. Here are a few photos from life lately.

I love this window light as much as I loved the homemade cinnamon bread made by a new creative friend:ImageCandles at home.ImageA foggy sunset …Image… turned into a foggy morning.ImageA Saturday morning looked a lot like Christmas morning:ImageEveryone ate at was merry:ImageI love morning light, and my kitchen window is a favorite place to soak in it:ImageA lamp and stuff:ImageCatching up on Netflix:ImageMy niece, Emmelia:ImageNot-too-successful, but fun, photo attempts with the multi-exposure switch in the Hipstamatic app:ImageImageI’m trying to get my organization on. Food for breakfast, lunches and dinner for a few work days. Planning is key, I hear. Garlic chicken stir-fry with veggies. Spinach and mushroom crustless quiche. Some simple salads with tomatoes (and avocado later):ImageThis kind of inspired me last week when things didn’t exactly go the way I’d hoped:Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. OwlMcCloud says:

    Great shots and post!

  2. Maggie says:

    Napoleon Dynamite looks awesome in that picture, your mom knows how to decorate a window, and I love that pretty little print. Anne of Green Gables was one of my favorite books growing up.

Leave a Reply

