Skydiving and breakfast with dad

Image

When I get that feeling like I need to go for a drive but don’t have a destination in mind, I often end up on the frontage road leading to the Parachute Center. It’s its own little world of billowy parachutes, international accents, daredevils, airplane engine roars, mismatched couches and dots turning into people as they fall from the sky. It’s not a place I belong at all, but I like to go, to be a spectator of this culture that is so different from my own.

A couple of weeks ago, on a Saturday morning, I met my dad for a breakfast date at the Airport Cafe. Over eggs and coffee, we watched the skydivers fall in the distance. He had time to kill before a haircut, so I made him go with me to watch them come in for the landing. “They’re nuts!” he said, though he was thoroughly entertained.

Would you ever jump? Have you? Ooh, I don’t think I could.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage* All photos were taken with the Hipstamatic app on  iPhone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skydiving and breakfast with dad

  1. Elissa Hernandez says:

    love this! I highly recommend sky diving if you need motivation to conquer the world! I remember feeling like I could accomplish anything after my experience. So much energy that lasted for weeks after my jump!

  2. Viktorya says:

    This looks like the perfect way to spend a day!
    I can’t imagine how beautiful the city must look from so high up. I really hope to go someday.
    And I love the vividness of the photos, I’ll have to check out that app!

Leave a Reply

