Taking it all in

Sometimes I try not to take pictures when I go places. But it just doesn’t work. It doesn’t feel natural to look at something beautiful or interesting and not be able to take a little picture home with me. Sometimes I worry that I’m missing out on an experience because I’m looking through a viewfinder or only have one hand free. But I don’t think either of those are true. I think the camera helps me see more. I think it helps me take in sights and sounds in a different way, in a more impactful way. Does that make sense? I know it annoys some, and some don’t get it, but that’s okay. It all makes life that much more interesting. I feel like I appreciate all of these little moments a little more deeply.

Which is why I don’t feel too bad about posting new beach photos every day.

I hope you don’t mind.

Because I couldn’t stop the clicking.

These, though, are the last shots of my four days in Fort Bragg, one of my new favorite places on the planet. I really do hope you enjoy them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taking it all in

  1. liz says:

    as always, your photos are gorgeous. and i completely understand your desire (obsession) with clicking every time you see something beautiful. keep doing it! :)

  2. Stacy says:

    Makes perfect sense and I could never get tired of your photos – especially the beach shots. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that black n white with the lighthouse in the background. It looks like an old photo. So cool. And the one, not right above it but the next one up (‘light_0231′) … I look at it and can just feel the sea mist on my skin and the smell of the ocean – so awesome Lauren.

  3. Lu Ann says:

    Your comment totally makes sense to me, as it is with me as well. The camera’s feel has become so much a part of me, that I am distracted when seeing something beautiful and there is no camera in my hands. It’s as if the camera itself becomes a tool to facilitate oneness with the Universe itself. Yeah.
    Your photos are absolutely lovely, thanks for sharing them.

  4. Brilliant photos and post thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

