Four days in Fort Bragg

It was hard to drive away from the coast yesterday, to leave the forests of redwoods and descend the last hill. Reality is hard to return to sometimes. When all you want are crashing waves when you live in a valley. When you want every day to have that warmth and relaxing vibe that only comes with those really great long weekends.

On Friday morning, my aunt and I drove north to Fort Bragg on the California coast and camped with two friends who have been staying on the coast for a little while. I think it might be one of my favorite camping trips I’ve had, full of great company, campfires, coastal drives, apricot brandy, a comfy camper bed, laughter and beach walks.

I have a ton of pictures to share — probably more than you will want to see — but for now, here is a little glimpse into a long weekend in Mendocino.

Sometimes you have to pull over for a nice view. The entire weekend was beautiful:The view from our cozy campsite:I love these little chairs and table:Every night we had a campfire. It’s a great set-up in an old washing machine barrell stacked on top of an old truck wheel. Works perfecto.Sea glass and shells:Telephone booths still exist. In middle of fields, too:Campers, campers everywhere. How I love them all:No one believed me that we’d see mermaids. Mermaids with unicorns. And mermaids who ride with the whales. It would be a sign of good weather, I said. And we had beautiful weather.We stopped for coffee in town, and I was utterly amused with a candy machine filled with chocolate-covered espresso beans. Love it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Four days in Fort Bragg

  1. Cindy says:

    Wow! Your getaway looks amazing! So glad you had a wonderful time. You deserved some R&R for sure. You photos are amazing as always….feel like I get to live the experience thru you! So glad you blog your world!

  2. liz says:

    I am in serious need of some camping. Thanks for sharing your pictures – I am living vicariously through them :)

Leave a Reply

