Faux sun-dried tomatoes

I love sun-dried tomatoes. I love their salty tart flavor and the umph! they give to salads, pastas, homemade pizza and even sandwiches. I was trying to think of ways to use the end of the season’s tomato harvest, and thought I’d try to make my own. Oh, tomatoes, how you will be missed. First, I picked them off the vines.Then I took their picture.With the cat.Then, I cut them in half and in thirds, and placed them on a baking sheet on some waxed paper.I preheated the oven to 170. In the meantime, some garlic was chopped and mixed with olive oil and herbs you like. That deliciously aromatic mixture was drizzled over the tomatoes before I put them in the oven.They baked ever so slowly — for 4 to 5 hours. And the house made me crave Italian food.They cooled completely before I put them in a cowboy wine glass (I couldn’t find a normal Mason jar) and filled it to the top with olive oil. These puppies will stay good for about a month, or until you eat them up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Faux sun-dried tomatoes

  1. erlendaaby says:

    I like sundried tomatoes, but i dont like them fresh, odd right?

  2. Elissa Hernandez says:

    ummm, that look so good! did you only make one jar? and did you get that jar form dancing fox?

  3. free penny press says:

    This looks easy to do and delish.. Will have to try this!!

  4. Not sure if I already tasted it but sure did my mouth watered. Yuum!

  5. steve says:

    This is interesting. I do something similar. I mix drying my tomatoes between sun and oven. As a hint for oven part: if your oven has convection roast, use that setting and set temperature lower, 130 degrees. The air circulation on convection roast makes dehydration more efficient and lowers risk of burning tomatoes. I find it is also more productive to use higher solids tomatoes like plum or grape tomatoes than regular tomatoes.
    Steve

Leave a Reply

