Those who cook in Dutch ovens … Eat well

A few weeks ago, my aunt’s neighborhood celebrated its 9th Dutch Oven Gathering — aka pot party, aka DOG. My uncle and aunt started the event, and now everyone in the ‘hood is pretty much a professional.

A Dutch oven is a cast-iron pot that you heat with hot coals. Anything you can cook in the oven, you can cook in a Dutch oven. It’s a pretty old style of cooking, but it’s super fun — and tasty.

Here are a few shots from the day. Don’t get hungry (or do).

We started with set-up, including cleaning a huge beam taken from a dam. My Aunt Jo and I scraped dirt and tar from the beam for quite a while, but then Danny came over with a pressure washer. Thank you, good sir!
Then Jo and I decided to be over-achievers and start cooking before the event. Monkey Bread: a perfect, gooey breakfast for everyone (it boiled over a little, don’t judge, it was tasty).Let the cooking begin!We made tortilla crisps for appetizers beside Andy, who cooked up paprika chicken.There were a ton of concoctions:Good idea to put dog tags on your pots. Check out that homemade rig:Cooking away.Larry’s secret recipe.This was my first year cooking. I made chili relleno casserole and garlic green beans in a wok with a volcano.Yes, there was corned beef and cabbage.And that, friends, was a super fun day. I hope you get an opportunity to use a Dutch oven.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Those who cook in Dutch ovens … Eat well

  1. dominikanita says:

    That looks like a great tradition to have. Your green beans looked awesome! :)

  2. Wow – that looks great (and delicious!)

  3. JSD says:

    What a wonderful way to get to know your neighbors! :)

  4. free penny press says:

    You have a great blog and I shared it with others here:

    http://sixdegreesblogging.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/six-degrees-rolls-off-the-press/

  5. Shannon Faris-Parnell says:

    What fun! And sooo many Dutch ovens full of amazing stuff. Drooling as I looked at the pics…

  6. Maggie says:

    The food looks so delicious, I’m sad I missed it, but I know there will be much crock potting over the winter! I also really like that picture of Danny, very country!

  7. ophelia says:

    This is absolutely wonderful!

Leave a Reply

