Five Senses Monday

This was one of those dream weekends when every day offered the splendor of relaxation, good company, tasty eats and sunshine. It started with Friday night dinner, where my friend Grant treated our little group with pasta made from scratch, tri-tip, grilled asparagus and homemade strawberry shortcake. We dined al fresco on his patio, where we’ve shared many conversations and bottles of wine.

The night was nice because we were all brought together by Grant and his wife Laura, who we lost to cancer in October (posts here and here, too). For those who are new to the blog, Laura had a deep love for life, her close circle of friends and entertaining, among so many other things. Grant’s the same way, and he never fails to throw a perfect shindig. On Friday, we enjoyed the hand-mastered food he prepared and celebrated instantly deep friendships and the ones we all shared and will never forget with Laura.

Enjoy the photos. I hope they inspire you to get creative in the kitchen, and eventually wander outside with the people you love. (Scroll down for my weekly Five Senses Monday, too).
And now it’s time for Five Senses Monday, where I reflect on the weekend through the five senses. Follow along in the comments or on your own blog:

Tasting:
Fresh herbs and tomatoes poured over homemade fettuccine noodles. Such a treat.

Smelling:
Hints of my grandmother in piles of linens and closed jars at a vintage street faire.

Seeing:
Stripes on the top of my feet where Sunday sun left flip-flop tan lines.

Hearing:
Friends’ laughter. Every day. So sweet.

Feeling:
Incredibly gracious and humbled by the response I’ve gotten from being “Fresh Pressed” this week. Thank you to everyone who “liked,” read and commented on my blog post “Mexico Handicrafts.” You’ve shown me that people are hungry for color and inspiration, and I’m glad I can offer something as simple as a few photos from a trip to Mexico City.  I hope you keep reading, and I promise I’ll respond to every question this week.  Thank you, from the bottom of my big corazon (heart). xo, Lauren

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Five Senses Monday

  1. To make the pasta, gramma from Sicily would roll the dough into a thin sheet and then roll it like a scroll and then cut to desired thickness and then unroll the pasta. Is this how you did it?

  2. lovely photos and words, made me feel like I took a mini vacation with friends.

  3. hintrospect says:

    I could smell the yumminess right through the computer screen!

  4. Natalie says:

    Hey, we know two of your friends – Andrea and Mike (right?) We met them through softball (Jen and Chris Nichols brought them to the team) and then hung out again once before we had to move away. If you see them again soon – we say hi! Also that food looks amazing. I’ve been wanting to try and make my own pasta and I think I just found the perfect inspiration :)

  5. Randi says:

    What homey photos!

  6. Michael says:

    Your photographs are incredible – so talented :-)

    • Lauren says:

      Aw, Michael. You’re sweet. Thanks for coming and commenting. Visit more often, since I suck at e-mail, but apparently can blog OK. Haha.

  7. carla c. says:

    I just love your blog and your photos!

  8. Aww, this looks like a perfectly relaxed weekend. That back patio will always hold a warm, comforting spot in my heart.

Leave a Reply

